PTSD is Real

My heart is breaking
I see you disassociating
I see the fear in your eyes
The sea is not calm and your heart is broken

You hear noises, but they remind you of the past and not the present
You go to a dark place
You are hiding and crying
I hold you as tight as I can
I tell you that you are safe

Your screams are real
The monsters are real
They are going to get you
Your world is so real

My heart is breaking
I see you disassociating
I see the fear in your eyes
The sea is not calm and your heart is broken

You are my baby
This was never supposed to happen
I know the signs all too well
PTSD is hell

You are referred to another doctor
No one understands this thing called PTSD
No one understands the impact of domestic violence on you
They say you were too little
Yet you can recall the most minute detail

Your screams are real
The monsters are real
They are going to get you
Your world is so real

The courts won’t believe you
They say you are too young
Yet you can recall the most minute recall
The sounds, the smells the memories they are so real

You are my baby
This was never supposed to happen

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “PTSD is Real

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close