Mending a broken heart

I see your heart is aching, but I don’t know how to fix it.
I see your young eyes looking up to me for guidance and it hurts.
Your innocence was taken to young.
You are triggered and no one around you understands, but I do.

I see the fear in your eyes when a man yells.
You cower under a table or bury yourself in my arms.
I can’t tell you it will be okay, but I can tell you that you are safe at this moment.
My heart aches to watch you go from laughing to screaming all in a moments notice.

I know your screams are real.
Your screams are not about what is happening at the moment, but something in the past.
I hold you tight and say that you are safe, but I see the way you look at me.
Your eyes are full of fear and don’t know what is happening to your mind or body.

You know you are safe when I hold you, but you can’t break free from this fear.
This fear has engulfed you and is real.
My heart is aching and I pray that it ends.
I pray that this monster leaves you and that this thing called PTSD that has engulfed your mum doesn’t have a hold of you.

Too many fears, too many worries
You will be okay and I will always be there for you.
Your fears are real as the day that they happened.
Your innocence was taken to young.

I wish I could go back and change the past.
I wish you didn’t see what you did and that you found peace and never lost your innocence
I wish that you could tell me what you are feeling, but I know that you may not know.
I wish that you could tell someone else what has happened to you.
I pray that the monster leaves you, Landry, and that this thing called PTSD  that has engulfed your mum doesn’t have a hold of you.

 

 

 

About stoptheabuse

I am a divorced mother who survived years of emotional, verbal, physical and sexual abuse and am no longer with a man who has a cluster B personality disorder including narcissism. I am a survivor and so is my young child.
This entry was posted in children and DV, domestic violence, DV by proxy, PTSD and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mending a broken heart

  1. Pingback: Mending a broken heart — Stop the Abuse | Madison Elizabeth Baylis

  2. Pingback: Mending a broken heart — Stop the Abuse – Healing Veterans one step at a time

Leave a Reply

